E.J. Moeran : Complete Solo Folksong Arrangements

E.J. Moeran

To purchase this recording please click here

Adrian Thompson tenor
Marcus Farnsworth baritone
John Talbot piano

Ernest John (‘Jack’) Moeran (1894-1950) was the last major representative of the group of English composers who, in the first decade of the twentieth century, sought musical inspiration in the melodic beauty of traditional folksong. In addition to using folksong-related material in a number of his original works, Moeran also made many direct arrangements of folksongs he collected throughout his lifetime, principally in areas of East Anglia and the south-west of Ireland, including the twenty-five for solo voice and piano recorded here together for the first time. Included in the programme, which contains a number of première recordings, are Six Folksongs from Norfolk, Six Suffolk Folksongs, Songs from County Kerry, and a further six individual folksong arrangements. A première recording of Moeran’s earliest known and only recently discovered solo song, The North Sea Ground, provides an attractive and historically significant bonus to this delightful recital. The 24-page booklet accompanying the CD contains an essay on E.J. Moeran and Folksong by Roy Palmer of the English Folk Dance and Song Society, as well as an extended note by Ian Maxwell on his edition of The North Sea Ground. The recording is released on the sixtieth anniversary of Moeran’s death on 1 December 1950.


Cover Label: Naxos
Code: 8.571359